Iraqi Premier League 2018-19 Champions

Major Honours


Central FA League Champions (6)

1962-63, 1966-67, 1967-68, 1968-69, 1969-70, 1971-72

Premier League Champions (6)

1979-80, 1997-98, 2002-03, 2012-13, 2013-14, 2018-19

Al Shorta have won a combined twelve league titles, including six Central FA League triumphs and six Premier League crowns. The first title was won in 1962-63 under the leadership of Fahmi Al-Qaimaqchi, while three titles have been picked up in the past seven campaigns, including the most recent 2018-19 season.


Elite Cup Winners (3)

2000, 2001, 2002

Al Shorta are the only team in history to have won the Elite Cup three consecutive times, lifting the trophy in the 2000-01, 2001-02 and 2002-03 seasons, with the latter being part of a League and Elite Cup double. The first of the final wins was versus Al Zawraa with the next two being against Al Talaba.


Super Cup Winners (1)


The Harps picked up their first Super Cup title in 2019 under Serbian manager Aleksandar Ilić, beating rivals Al Zawraa 4-3 on penalties in Kut after a 1-1 draw. Congolese striker Junior Mapuku memorably scored Al Shorta's equalising goal on his debut for the club.


Asian Champions (1)


Al Shorta won every game they played in at the 1971 AFC Champions League, reaching the final where they refused to face an Israeli club in an act of humanity, morality and unity with Palestine. The Harps' withdrawal majorly contributed to Israel being expelled from the AFC and Al Shorta celebrated completing their mission of conquering Asia in style with an open-top bus parade in a jubilant Baghdad, greeted with headlines of "The Champions Return Home".


Arab Champions (1)


The inaugural edition of the Arab Champions League was won by none other than Al Shorta after an historic 4-2 aggregate win over Lebanese side Al Nejmeh in the final at Al Shaab Stadium, meaning 'Al Qeetharah' could now boast Champions League heroics at both the Asian and Arab level (no other existing Iraqi club has won either tournament).


Other Honours

Arab Police Championship

Baghdad Cup

Police Director General Cup

Republic Championship

Jerusalem Championship

Great Victory Championship

Saddam Qadisiya Championship

President's Gold Cup

Alexandria International Summer Tournament

Al Olympi Club Cup

Al Quwa Al Jawiya Cup

Taha Al Hashimi Cup

© Copyright 2010-2020

You are free to copy texts, whether in whole or part, from this website provided that proper acknowledgement is given to